Beef and Ale Stew

I am sure you do the same, when you cook something that you’ve made many times before you just throw the things together and ignore the original recipe and the listed amounts of ingredients.
Same with this beef and ale stew… I’ve made it many times before but every time it tastes different. Last time I used the wrong ale, it tasted too bitter. So this time I opted for an ale that was described to have “fruity and nutty flavour”, the Double Dragon Ale. It was also on offer šŸ˜‰

Here is my recipe (for 4-6 people):

500 gram diced lean beef (stewing beef for example)
5 carrots (chopped coarsely into chunks)
half a parsnip (cut into small chunks, I use them only for flavour in this recipe
about 10 peeled shallots (depends on the size, I used the long ones not the round ones)
1 pack of brown mushrooms (cleaned and left whole)
1 table spoon of brown sugar
1 table spoon of concentrated tomatoes
1 bottle of ale
about 1 pint of vegetable stock
freshly ground pepper
salt
1 dried chilli
3 cloves of garlic
1 bay leaf
a good handful of small new potatoes
potato flour for thickening
bunch of flat parsley

Brown the beef in a big pot (I use my pressure cooker) in some olive oil (or vegetable oil, it doesn’t matter), add the carrots, shallots, mushrooms and potatoes. Add the brown sugar and tomato mark as well as the garlic cloves and the bay leaf. Season with salt and pepper; add the bottle of ale and the vegetable stock.
Since I cook my stew in a pressure cooker it doesn’t take long to cook it. Once the little “nipple” is up, I turn the cooker down to the lowest heat and let it simmer for about half an hour.
Once it is ready just thicken it to your liking. Dish up and sprinkle some chopped parsley over it. We like our stew quite hot so I also serve sour cream with my stew.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

