World Cupcakes

We were invited to watch the England vs. USA match at our friends’ house and I thought I’ll bring along some chocolate chip muffins and fitting to the occasion I decorated my muffins with the English flag.
These are the best chocolate chip muffins I’ve ever eaten and I don’t say that because I made them!

Ingredients:

250g plain flour (2 cups)
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
3 tbsp good cocoa powder (unsweetened!)
175g light brown sugar (2/3 of a cup)
150g dark chocolate chips (and some more if you want them on top)
250 ml milk (1 cup)
90ml vegetable oil (1/3 of a cup)
1 large egg
1 tsp real vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 200° C and fill a muffin tray with paper cases. Sieve the flour, baking powder, baking soda and cocoa powder into a bowl, add the sugar and stir to make sure it’s all evenly mixed. In a bigger bowl mix the oil, egg, milk and vanilla extract together then add the dry ingredients and the chocolate chips. Carefully fold everything together but don’t overwhisk it!
Spoon the batter into your paper cases (about 2/3 ).
If you don’t want to decorate them with butter cream now is the time to sprinkle extra chocolate chips on top.
Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes. Check with a wooden skewer if they are done (if it comes out with no crumbs on it they are ready!).
Lastly decorate them with good vanilla butter cream icing. I use the Betty Crocker one because it has that slightly fake American taste to it which I love. I can’t explain this taste… non Americans who’ve been to America know what I’m talking about.
Leave a Reply

