I’ve eaten well in the last few weeks…

… I’ve just not blogged about it. Here are a few dishes I made recently:
Roasted pork belly with butternut squash and potato mash with broccoli – which was definitely a highlight!
I sat the pork belly on a bed of sliced onions and sliced apples, lightly sprinkled with some sugar. The onions and apples caramelised with the fat that oozed out of the pork belly and tasted divine. The pork belly had a fantastic crackling (aided by lots of sea salt flakes!), crisp but not chewy. The only reason I used butternut squash in my mash was that I had it in the fridge for weeks and it needed to go. But oh, what a good decision to mash it in with my potatoes! Add some butter and at least half a teaspoon of freshly ground nutmeg and the mash will be melting away in your mouth.
Rosemary sausages on roasted tomatoes with mashed potatoes
So simple, so easy and so utterly delicious. All you need are cocktail tomatoes, enough to fill a lasagna dish with it. Then mix olive oil with balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper and spoon most of it over the tomatoes. Prick your sausages all round and put on top of the tomatoes. Spoon the rest of the balsamic mix over the sausages. Sprinkle all with freshly chopped rosemary. Put in the oven for about half an hour/ 45 minutes or so until your sausages are brown (I turned mine after about 20 minutes). Serve with (mashed) potatoes.
Slow cooked beef with sun dried tomatoes
This recipe is loosely based on Parker’s Beef Stew Recipe, I throw in whatever I have in the fridge and what I feel like that day. Do marinate the beef in red wine, garlic and bay leaves overnight, I think that’s absolutely vital for the success of the recipe. I added fresh cocktail tomatoes and lots of sun dried tomatoes and lots of Worcester Sauce as I like the vinegary taste of it. It reminds me of my mum’s Sauerbraten.
Last night we had leftovers. Sauteed potatoes, poached eggs, bacon and I added some gherkins and pickled green chillies to it. And ketchup. Can’t have bacon without ketchup.
Leave a Reply

