Zesty lemon roses

It was my birthday recently and I got everything I wanted. I didn’t have a single present that I didn’t like or wondered on how earth I could make it disappear (break it, lose it, give it to someone else)!
My sister Christine gave me wonderful baking presents: a silikone mould with six roses, a silikone brush (I have a conventional that seems to have a tendency to lose its hairs in cakes and on roasts) and a decorating squeeze bottle. The silikone mould came with a small recipe booklet (three recipes in six different languages) and the first receipe I tried turned out to be such a success that I’ve made it countless times since. I used the recipe as a basis, it was too buttery for my taste, so here’s my version:

For a silicon mould with six roses you will need:

a small knob of butter
1/2 cup of vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 cup of icing sugar
1 cup of fine cake flour
1 pinch of salt
1 pinch of baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
zest of two lemons
squeeze of 1/2 lemon

Preheat your oven to 170C, Gasmark 4

Melt the small knob of butter in the microwave and brush your moulds with it so the cakes won’t stick to them later! Mix icing sugar with lemon zest, lemon juice and oil. Add the eggs and vanilla extract and whisk smooth. Slowly add the flour and mix thoroughly. Spoon the dough into the moulds (they should be about 2/3 full). Bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes. Check that they are all baked through by inserting a toothpick into the cake(s). If there isn’t anything sticking to it then they are ready!
Let the cakes cool in the moulds for 10 minutes then take them out. You can then either
– Spoon lemon syrup over the roses
– Dust the lemon roses with some icing sugar
– Inject lemon syrup into the cakes by using a syringe
– Ice the cakes by mixing some lemon juice with icing sugar and spreading the icing evenly over the roses.
Lemon syrup is easily made by cooking the same amount of sugar with the same amount of lemon juice until the syrup is all clear. Careful when you take it off the stove, sugar syrup stays very very hot for a long time.

I don’t recommend the icing version actually because you can’t see the rose pattern otherwise, I simply piped lemon syrup around the rose pattern and about an hour later I dusted the cakes with icing sugar.

Leave a Reply

