Lemon, lemons, lemon cake

Last weekend I baked three lemon drizzle cakes. Ok, lemon yogurt cakes to be precise. But I drizzle a lot of lemony goodness on them so they are lemon drizzle cakes to me.
One was for a friend of mine who turned 40 over the weekend, so I thought I better spruce it up a bit, fit for the occasion. I baked the cake in a round tin and frosted it all over with this frosting:

100gr mascarpone
100gr cream cheese
2 and half cups of icing sugar
zest of two lemons
juice of one lemon
50gr of lemon curd
200gr fresh whipped cream

The measurements above are approximate. I didn’t weigh the ingredients, this is just to give you some kind of idea of quantities. You need to see how thick your frosting is for yourself and then either add more icing sugar or a few more squeezes of lemon juice.
I first whisked the mascarpone with the cream cheese and set aside. Then I whisked the icing sugar into the lemon juice, added the lemon zest and the lemon curd. Then I combined this with the mascarpone and cream cheese. Last I carefully folded in the whipped cream. I frosted the entire cake and made sure there was almost as much frosting on top of the cake as there was cake! Right at the end before we left for the party I sprinkled fresh lemon zest all over the cake. It looked really pretty. Too bad I forgot to take a picture of it but I’m sure it wasn’t the last time I transformed a simple lemon drizzle cake into a fancy lemon torte!
2 thoughts on “Lemon, lemons, lemon cake

  1. Your cake and frosting lead me to believe you have very lucky friends. They are very nice, indeed. This is my first visit to your blog, so I've spent some time exploring your earlier entries. I really like the food and recipes you feature here and I'll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

