Vanilla Raspberry Muffin

Kent raspberries two punnets for the price of one. I couldn’t resist. They were red and ripe and firm and when I opened the lids of the punnets a sweet smell emerged making my mouth water! They looked too delicous to not have a handful each but I managed to save the rest to make some raspberry muffins.
I’ve never made any fruit containing muffins before so I simply googled for a recipe and took the first one!
It was from the Good to know Recipe website and I followed it through (apart from adding a teaspoon of vanilla essence to it and replacing the sugar with vanilla sugar) but I got a bit confused by the instruction to
Coarsely grate the chilled butter into the bowl and stir with a fork to coat in the flour mixture.
I had chilled butter but I wasn’t sure about the grating of it, so I just chopped it finely and kind of rubbed it into the flour with my fingers.
 
Beat together the egg and milk then pour into the bowl. Mix lightly with a fork until just combined. Take care not to over-beat the mixture – it should still be a little lumpy. Gently fold in the raspberries.
I did all that but there were quite a lot of lumps of butter and flour mix floating around in the batter so I wasn’t too sure how this was all going to work out.
 
I spooned the batter into my tulip wraps and I got 11 of them filled. I might have put too much into some of the cases so ok, I guess you do get 12 muffins out of it.
 
They took about 28 minutes and when I took them out I sprinkled some sugar onto them. I couldn’t wait until they had cooled down to try one…. sweeet dough, vanilla laced… and the sharpness of the raspberries …oh yes, this recipe makes very fine muffins!
One thought on “Vanilla Raspberry Muffin

Leave a Reply

