Key lime cupcakes with lime buttercream frosting

I got hold of a batch of key limes (they are smaller than normal limes and more yellow) and used them to make cupcakes.

Here’s what you need:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
about 3 tbsp of lime zest

1/2 teaspoon pure lemon extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice


Preheat the oven to gas mark 6 and line your cupcake tray with paper cases.
I ususally start with putting all the dry ingredients into one bowl and giving it a quick stir.
In a bigger bowl I crack in the eggs and the rest of the wet ingredients. Whisk them until light and fluffy. Add the dry ingredients. Stir them in with a fork to make sure that they are just combined, don’t overmix the batter. Spoon into your cupcake cases and bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. My oven had been on all morning so they were ready in 15 minutes.
Let them cool entirely before you pipe on the buttercream frosting:

40g butter
250g icing sugar
1/2 tsp lemon extract
1 tbsp milk
2 tbsp lime zest

Beat the butter until light and fluffy. Gradually add about half of the icing sugar to it. Beat well. Slowly beat in the milk and the lemon extract. Then add the rest of the icing sugar and the zest. Add more sugar or milk if needed to make a good consistency.
Fill a piping bag, chose your favourite nozzle and decorate away. I grated some more lime zest over the cupcakes once I had finished with the rosettes.
One thought on “Key lime cupcakes with lime buttercream frosting

  1. These really sound delicious. I have a real liking of lime in sweets and I can imagine how good these taste. I'm so glad you paid me a visit. It brought me here and I know have more recipes that I can review. I'll be back often. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

