Fireworks on a cake

Ok, it’s probably not what you would classify as a “real” firework, but it looks like one. I’m talking about a cake ice fountain. I finally got to use one on Saturday. I made a chocolate raspberry torte for a 50th birthday and since I knew the cake was going to be presented when it was dark I thought that’s a perfect opportunity to see just how those firework fountains work.

I was very pleased with the outcome of this firework! And with my cake of course!!!
I used a different cake recipe for this than for the last one I baked (you can find more info on my facebook page). I used my now all time favourite chocolate cake recipe by The Pink Whisk and only discovered after I had one cake in the oven and already cracked my eggs for the second one that one batch would have been enough for two 8 inch tins…. never mind I thought, it will just be a very tall cake then.
When the second cake was baked and both were cooling down I took four punnets of fresh raspberries and emptied them into a bowl. I ate a good handful of them as there were a lot of them! I marinated them in two tablespoons of framboise liqueur, two tablespoons of sugar and squeezed half a lemon in it, too.

I whipped a pint of double cream and about half a teaspoon of vanilla bean paste until it was stiff and put the bowl into my fridge to keep it  cold while I took care of the gelatin (follow the instructions on the package! I used four leaves of gelatin).
I mixed the gelatin with the raspberries and then folded the fruit mixture into the whipped cream.
I cut my cakes into half (with a knife and a piece of strong thread) and put the first layer face down on a plate (I didn’t cut off the top to make it even, the weight of the cakes and the filling would take care of levelling it out). Then I used some black current jam (I could have sworn I had raspberry jam at home, but we must have eaten it!) and smeared the first layer with it. Top with a generous layer of raspberry cream and lay the bottom half of the first cake on it, bottom facing up! Repeat with jam and cream and add the top half of the second cake (top down) on it. As before add jam and raspberry cream followed by the last bottom layer of the second cake (again bottom up, so you end up with an even and levelled cake). Fill any gaps with cream so your cake is fairly smooth all around. Place it into the fridge so it can set.
An hour later or so, I made a chocolate butter cream and covered the whole cake in it. It went back into the fridge to harden before I made my final decorations, a big fifty sprayed in edible gold spray on top and music notes around the cake (the birthday boy is a musician). I also used some chocolate stars between the candles and of course, the cake firework!!!
As I had a slice of the cake on the evening and even though I made the cake I can honestly say that it was delicious!!!
Leave a Reply

