The circus came to town…

I was invited to a party with the theme Circus, Cabaret and Carnival and as a birthday present my friend asked me for a red velvet cake. Nothing easier than that! Of course, it had to go with the theme of the evening… so first I baked three red velvet cakes. I was anxious they might not turn out red enough so I used quite a bit of my “Extra Red” colour.

This one came out perfect. The other two unfortunately decided to cave in. But not to worry, I only needed four layers and some cake to make the dome of my circus tent. I cut the perfect cake into two layers and made sure that I got two even layers out of the other two cakes.

I made a cream cheese frosting and layered my cake. Then I combined the cake crumbs with the frosting (like you would do if you made cake pops) and made the dome.

I crumb coated the cake (twice) and chilled it in the fridge until everything had set so I could cover it in white fondant. Next was the roof.

And two hours later the cake was finished. I finally had the chance to use my grass nozzle!

I added red glitter to the yellow ribbons on the side as the cake was for a girl and girls like glitter. (Ok, it was a grown woman my age who the cake was for but a bit of glitter has never harmed anyone!)

And we cut the cake later that night. It tasted great (even if I say so myself). It looks like the white fondant was quite thick on the top but it’s deciving… I put a thick layer of cream cheese frosting on the top!

I must apologise for the bad picture quality. These pictures were taken with my mobile phone, which was covered in flour, icing sugar and had several buttery finger prints on them. Looks like one of them was on the lens!

2 thoughts on “The circus came to town…

Leave a Reply

