Apple Cinnamon rolls

I am already in Autumn mood; the weather is cold and rainy and damp and hardly any sunshine anymore and it’s so windy that I am fearing for my five apples on my apple tree. The tree is only in its second year so I’m very pleased with how many apples it grew.

They still need a bit (I think? I’ve no idea when it comes to apple trees, I don’t even know what variety it is as I threw the tag away when I planted the tree, I was just so excited to have my own apple tree in my garden) so on Sunday I thought what could I do with five apples? I was looking through many recipes trying to find one that appealed to me. I am not keen on too much apple in or on a cake, the apple can’t be puréed, it still has to have a bite. And no raisins either in my baked goods, yuk, raisins freak me out.

I came across these Apple Walnut Cinnamon Rolls and don’t they look tasty?

I followed the recipe but I used half roasted walnuts and half roasted hazelnuts as I wanted to use up an open pack of hazelnuts. The rolls turned out fine, but the next time I’ll be using less flour (6.5 cups = ca 815 gram) as I felt there was too much flour in my dough. I will also make more of the filling. Since there was so much dough I had to roll it out quite big in order to get the thinness of it. Now that I think of it, I could have just rolled out less dough. Duh! Anyway, I’ll still make more of the filling as it tastes divine. I used one and a half Granny Smith Apple and one Braeburn Apple.

And of course, every oven is different. Mine was hot from dinner so I should have known better and left the rolls in for less than 20 minutes as I think they are a teeny-weeny bit overbaked. Not that they don’t taste nice, they are gooey and sticky and cinnamonny and the sharpness of the apples cuts through the sweetness beautifully. All in all I still count them as a success!

For the glaze I simply used powdered sugar and some water and a few drops of rum flavour as I had drunk all the cider a few days before. The rum flavour goes very well with the cinnamon and the apples!

Have a go at them, they are time consuming as you have to let the dough rise twice but nobody forces you to do anything during that time, so you can just chill out while the yeast does its magic!

 

Leave a Reply

